DMX’s Posthumous Album ‘Exodus’ Features a Song with JAY-Z and Nas

todayMay 14, 2021 2

share close

In two weeks, DMX’s posthumous album Exodus will be released.

On Thursday night, executive producer Swizz Beatz previewed the star-studded project during a listening party for radio DJs and other industry tastemakers, some of whom attended via Zoom and shared their takeaways on social media (via HipHop-N-More).

The album reportedly features 10 tracks, with appearances from Lil Wayne, Bono, Alicia Keys, Moneybagg Yo, Griselda, The LOX, and Snoop Dogg. Nas appears twice including on a song with JAY-Z (The two recently collaborated on DJ Khaled’s “Sorry Not Sorry”).

“The new DMX album is incredible.. Brought me to tears,” tweeted one DJ, who also remarked over the last song featuring Usher.

“This was the perfect LP for his legacy,” added another attendee.

In one of his final interviews with N.O.R.E.’s “Drink Champs” podcast earlier this year, X revealed that Pop Smoke would be a featured guest, but the song did not make the album for undisclosed reasons. “It didn’t make the cut because of a situation but Swizz didn’t go into detail,” tweeted Tony Hanes.

Exodus, DMX’s first album since 2012’s Undisputed, will be released May 28, less than two months after he died from a heart attack at 50.

“My brother X was one of the most pure and rare souls I’ve ever met,” Swizz previously said. “He lived his life dedicated to his family and music. Most of all, he was generous with his giving and loved his fans beyond measure. This album, X couldn’t wait for his fans all around the world to hear and show just how much he valued each and every single person that has supported him unconditionally.”

Written by:

Rate it
WP Radio
WP Radio